Winter Nanga Parbat: The Battle Continues

Five teams will be aiming for first winter ascent of Nanga Parbat.
Winter climbing season in Himalayas and Karakoram is just a month away and multiple teams are getting ready for the challenge. K2 and Nanga Parbat are the only eight-thousanders still unclimbed in winter. However, K2 offers a variety of challenges, ranging from Logistical difficulties to formidable weather, technical complexities and sheer size. Henceforth, the mountain has been attempted just thrice in winter. Nanga Parbat, on the other hand, is easily accessible and peaks around 500m lower than K2. Nonetheless, unpredictable weather and bad climbing conditions have so far repelled 25 winter expeditions on Nanga Parbat.

Five Teams on Nanga Parbat:-

Last winter, Denis Urubko, Adam Bielecki and Alex Txikon, along with Artiom Braun and Dmitry Siniew, intended to climb K2 from Chinese side, but their permit was revoked just a day before team’s departure. Polish Winter Himalaism team was planning to attempt K2 from Pakistan side, this year. Apparently, their plan has been postponed. So, there will be no team on K2, this winter.

Contrarily, winter Nanga Parbat has become a yearly affair for some climbers. Winter-Nanga maestro Tomek Mackiewicz will be back, again. Alex Txikon and Daniele Nardi are all set for another attempt. Simone Moro is also expected to be on the mountain. Marek Klonowski is already in Pakistan with his signature Justice for All expedition, with a bit different team composition, though. Last but not the least, Adam Bielecki, first ascent of winter GI and Broad Peak, will also be attempting Nanga Parbat this winter. Expect a lot of hardcore mountaineering action in coming weeks.

Winter 2015/16:-

(1) Justice for All

Plan: The Polish-Pakistani team is on the way to Rakaposhi for acclimatization before start of winter. They will attempt Schell Route on Rupal Side of Nanga Parbat.


1. Marek Klonowski

2. Karim Hayat

3. Pawel Dunaj

4. Pawel Witkowski

5. Michal Dzikowski

6. Safdar Karim

7. Tomasz Dziobkowski

8. Piotr Tomza

9. Pawel Kudla

(2) International Team

Plan: The team will be on Kinshofer route, Diamir side. Last year, they reached around 7800m on this route.


1. Alex Txikon

2. Daniele Nardi

3. Ali Sadpara

4. Ferran Latorre

5. Janusz Golab

(3) Nanga Light Expedition

Plan: Not confirmed yet. Apparently, they will be on Diamir side, as well.


1. Elisabeth Revol

2. Tomek Mackiewicz

3. Arsalan Ahmed

(4) Simone Moro and Tamara Lungar

Plan: Not confirmed yet.


1. Simone Moro

2. Tamara Lunger

(5) Adam Bielecki and Jacek Czech

Plan: They plan to acclimatize on Ojos de Salado (6893m).


1. Adam Bielecki

2. Jacek Czech