Lead Climbers Reach Camp 4 on K2

8000ers K2 Mountain
Nirmal Purja, hard at work on his 10th 8,000'er. Photo: Bremont Project Possible

Nirmal Purja, Lakpadendi Sherpa, Gesman Tamang, Changba Sherpa and Lakpa Temba Sherpa have reached Camp 4 on K2’s Abruzzi Spur. They will set off toward the summit at 9pm Pakistan time (5pm in London, noon in New York). During the night, they will climb the Bottleneck and traverse under the Great Serac. At 8,300m, they’ll pass the highest point reached by frontline climbers last week.

Further updates are expected from Purja’s team, and from Adrian Ballinger and Carla Perez, following closely behind. Stay tuned for updates.

Nirmal Purja positioned at K2’s Camp 4 earlier today.

Meanwhile, on Gasherbrum II, all the summiters are now back in Base Camp. Among them, Romanian Alex Gavan, on his seventh 8,000’er without supplementary O2, reached the top at noon on July 18, aproximately at the same time as Denis Urubko.

Alex Gavan’s Gasherbrum II summit selfie. Photo: Alex Gavan

Related story:

Purja Launches K2 Summit Push, But How Risky Is It?

About the Author

Angela Benavides

Angela Benavides

Sport journalist, published author and communication consultant. Feeling back home at ExplorersWeb after five years exploring distant professional ranges.

Leave a Reply

1 Comment on "Lead Climbers Reach Camp 4 on K2"

avatar
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Pedro
Guest

Nims and team have climbed K2!